"Nature's Symphony"


"Nature's Symphony" is a one hour program of nature scenes from Yellowstone, Grand Canyon and Yosemite National Parks set to 18 segments of classical music. After an opening sequence which features many of the scenes from throughout the program, the viewer travels from high mountains, down through Yosemite Valley, and eventually through the Grand Canyon. Beginning with winter, the viewer is transported around the seasons, and through three days.

1. Holberg Suite, First Movement, by Edvard Grieg
Program Introduction and Title

2. Vissi d' Arte from Tosca by Giacomo Puccini
Snowstorm, Sun after Snowstorm, Snow Falls from Trees

3. Troika from Lieutenant Kije Suite by Sergei Prokofiev
Icy Rivers and Waterfalls

4. Return to Rundarne by Edvard Grieg
Spring in the Yosemite High Country

5. Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, Fourth Movement
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
High Mountain Rivers, Waterfalls and Wildlife

6. Symphony No. 9 in E Minor ("From the New World"), Second Movement (excerpt), by Antonin Dvorak
High Mountain Sunset, End of First Day

7. Overture to Mignon (excerpt) by Ambroise Thomas
Spring Rain, Spring Flowers, Green Hills, Wildlife

8. Overture to The Gypsy Baron (excerpt) by Johann Strauss, Jr.
Wildlife, Yosemite Valley, Forests

9. The Musical Snuff Box by Anatol Liadov
Spring Flowers, Bumblebee in Lupin

Transition: Summer in Yosemite Valley

10. Ballet Music from Aida (excerpt) by Giuseppe Verdi
Yellowstone Bubbling Pots and Shooting Geysers

11. Theme from Swan Lake (excerpt) by Peter Ilych Tchaikovsky
Waterfowl, Upper and Lower Yellowstone Falls, Yellowstone Canyon

12. Rumanian Rhapsody No. 1 (excerpt) by Georges Enesco
Forest and Autumn Wildlife

13. Serenade by Franz Josef Haydn
Autumn Colors

14. Praeludium by Armas Jarnefelt
Autumn Wildlife at Play

15. The Pines of Rome (excerpt) by Ottorino Respighi
Winter in Yellowstone

16. La Mer (excerpt) by Claude Debussy
Full Moon and Dawn to Midday in the Grand Canyon

17. A Night on Bald Mountain by Modeste Mussorgsky
Colorado River in the Grand Canyon, Sunset, Moonrise

18. Concerto for Trumpet, Third Movement (excerpt)
by Franz Josef Haydn
Closing Credits


Home Page